The SMU Cox School of Business presented the Distinguished Alumni and Outstanding Young Alumni Awards at a luncheon in SMU’s Collins Executive Education Center the day before commencement in May. The event celebrated two Distinguished Alumni Award honorees and two Outstanding Young Alumni Award honorees.

In alphabetical order, this year’s SMU Cox Distinguished Alumni Award winners are Nancy S. Loewe, Executive MBA ’18, and Garry A. Weber, BBA ’58. The Cox School’s 2022 Outstanding Young Alumni honorees, alphabetically, are Jessica L. Boghetich, BBA ’08, and Trey Rome, BBA ’08. Award nominations are submitted to the SMU Cox Alumni Association for consideration by a selection committee.

(Front row, left to right) Cox School Dean Matt Myers; 2022 Cox Distinguished Alumnus Garry A. Weber, BBA ʼ58; SMU President R. Gerald Turner. (Back row, left to right) 2022 Cox Outstanding Young Alumna Jessica L. Boghetich, BBA ʼ08, and 2022 Cox Outstanding Alumnus Trey Rome, BBA ʼ08.

Nomination Requirements

SMU Cox Distinguished Alumni candidates must hold an undergraduate or graduate degree from SMU and a position of distinction in the business community, demonstrate outstanding career success, be active civic leaders and community partners and be involved with SMU and the Cox School through activities and contributions. Those recognized as SMU Cox Outstanding Young Alumni must meet the same criteria but can be no more than 40 years of age at the time of the awards luncheon. Nominations for either honor may be sent to Kevin Knox, assistant dean of external relations and executive director of the SMU Cox Alumni Association, at

SMU Cox Distinguished Alumni 2022

Nancy S. Loewe, EMBA ’18

Nancy S. Loewe, Executive MBA ’18, was unable to attend the awards luncheon and received her award at a private presentation the following week. Loewe is an advisor and investor in early-stage startups. Most recently, she was the senior vice president and chief financial officer of Weyerhaeuser, one of the world’s largest private owners of timberlands. Prior to joining Weyerhaeuser, she was senior vice president of finance for Visa Inc. Previously, she was CFO for Kimberly-Clark International, after having served as chief strategy officer and global treasurer for Kimberly- Clark Corporation. Before that, Loewe served as executive vice president and chief financial officer for PepsiCo’s Frito-Lay North America business unit. She also held a number of senior finance roles during her two-decade tenure with General Electric Company, including CFO for the Consumer & Industrial, Plastics Asia and Healthcare Services business units. Loewe earned an MBA from SMU Cox and a BBA in general business and finance from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. She serves on the Cox School’s Executive Board and is a director for Cinemark Holdings Inc.

Garry A. Weber, BBA ’58

Garry A. Weber, BBA ’58, is a former member of the Mustang football team and earned his BBA at SMU in 1958, before the business school had its name. He later founded Weber Financial and remains its chairman and CEO. Weber is active as an investor in venture capital and late-stage hedge funds. A former Dallas County judge and Dallas City Council member, he served on the SMU Board of Trustees from 1984 to 1996, and he’s been a member of the Cox School’s Executive Board for more than 30 years. In 1998, the University granted its highest honor to Weber, naming him a Distinguished Alumnus of SMU. He is also the recipient of the 2015 Silver Anniversary Mustang Award presented by the SMU Lettermen’s Association. In January of this year, the Garry Weber Foundation committed to a historic $50 million gift to create a three-level Garry Weber End Zone Complex at the Gerald J. Ford Stadium. The complex will increase the functionality, efficiency and overall experience of Mustang Football and its fans.

SMU Cox Outstanding Young Alumni 2022

Jessica L. Boghetich, BBA ’08

Jessica L. Boghetich holds a BBA ʼ08 from SMU Cox and a BA ʼ08 in Political Science from SMU Dedman College. When she graduated, the SMU Mother’s Club recognized her as the Most Outstanding Senior Woman in Business. A Certified Financial Planner and a Certified Trust Financial Advisor, Boghetich currently serves as a senior director on the Financial Planning Team of RGT Wealth Advisors. She also serves on RGT’s Financial Planning Policy Committee with leadership in the area of RGT University. D Magazine has recognized Boghetich several times as one of the top wealth managers and best financial planners in Dallas. She is active in a number of professional and charitable organizations, including the Financial Planning Association, Junior League of Dallas, SMU Emerging Leaders mentor program and Children’s Medical Center, and she was selected to participate in the T. Boone Pickens Leadership Institute. Boghetich is a longtime member of the Cox School’s Alumni Board and joined the SMU Planned Giving Council in 2019.

Trey Rome, BBA ’08

Trey Rome, BBA ’08, is the founder and CEO of Dallas-based Home Tax Solutions (HTS). A fourth-generation Texan, Rome worked his way up at Amegy Bank in the private equity acquisition finance group. Eventually, he got the entrepreneurial bug when he saw an opportunity to offer services to families facing high property taxes. Rome started HTS solo at his kitchen table. This year, the company is celebrating its 10th anniversary. With five offices throughout Texas and a staff of 23 employees, HTS has originated more than a quarter of a billion dollars helping more than 10,000 Texas property owners pay their taxes — and has become the largest property tax loan originator in the state. Rome founded HTS on his personal value system: happiness. He believes employees can have a good time while excelling professionally at their job. His philosophy is working: HTS has been recognized as one of “The Fastest-Growing Private Companies in America” by Inc. 5000, one of the “Top 250 Most Inspiring Companies in Texas” by Inc. and for the third year, one of the “Top 100 Dallas Privately Held Entrepreneurial Companies” by the Cox School’s Caruth Institute for Entrepreneurship.